SPECIAL FX

Special FX: Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons

24 November 2016

vca-ronde05

For now many years, Van Cleef & Arpels has been occupying a special segment in the watchmaking world thanks to its “Poetic Complications” collection. The watches within this collection express the encounter between the delicate and mischievous universe of Van Cleef & Arpels and the extreme technicality of high-level movements. Staging some of the favourite themes of the Maison from the Place Vendôme, they offer much more than just an alternate reading of time through retrograde displays, astronomic or unconventional complications. These watches convey a completely different relation with the passing time, where the hour indicators are no more than a pretext to experience graceful and magic moments.

What makes the “Poetic Complications” all the more remarkable is that their technical dimension – in itself highly creative, innovative and resulting from the work of prestigious watchmakers – ultimately gives way to the emotion generated by the dial. By following a fairy or a ballerina with your eyes, by observing the journey of a bird or a butterfly, you inevitably forget about the hundreds of interconnected pieces within the case, however crucial they might be to bring these animations to life.

The Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons is one of these rare watches where everything just seems so natural and smooth despite the underlying complexity of the mechanism. Van Cleef & Arpels reinterprets several of its favourite themes by combining on one same dial a lucky swallow, fragile butterflies and light, fluffy clouds. All these elements are harmoniously positioned around the dial and create an aerial scenery that indicates time. The swallow is devoted to indicating the hours with its left wing on a graduated scale from 0 to 12. In the context of the “Poetic Complications” collection, we can say this is a relatively normal display of time since it is done through a retrograde system, whereby the swallow automatically flies back to zero at the end of the eleventh hour.

It would however be wrong to consider the Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons as a mere reinterpretation of a previously used display mechanism. Indeed, the major difference resides in the behaviour of the butterflies whose mission is to indicate the minutes. It is extremely rare to see a dial where the minutes’ display has been separated in three distinct parts. And it is even more rare when one realizes that these parts do not all have the same duration: after an initial 30 minutes segment come two successive 15 minutes segments. This somewhat strange distribution only follows one objective: to glorify the butterflies’ movements.

If you take a close look at the minute graduation, you will notice that the 5 minutes intervals do not all have the same length. This is precisely one of the specific elements that make this watch so original: the butterflies do not fly at a constant speed! The trick lies in the usage of an elliptic wheel, which, as it rotates, accelerates and slows down their travelling speed.

You might be wondering what the purpose of this really is. After all, how on earth could you notice the difference in speed if the butterfly requires one complete hour to cover the entire distance on the graduated minute scale? Van Cleef & Arpels obviously thought about this detail by enabling the user to launch the butterfly dance “on demand” by simply pressing the push piece on the left side of the case. The butterflies suddenly take off, one after the other, and finally end up hiding behind the clouds once their round dance gracefully accomplished. A visually captivating spectacle that enables us to witness a wonderful 10 second-long ballet. This being a mechanical animation, the movement is very slightly jerky…which actually confers an additional and absolutely charming sense of fragility. Last but not least, the Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons is an intelligent mechanism as the butterflies ultimately fly back to their initial positions, which indicate time integrating the duration of the actual animation.

vca-ronde01

The movement that equips this watch has enough power to operate the module of retrograde jumping hours (the swallow), the variable speed minute indicators (the butterflies) as well as the “on demand” animation so exclusive to Van Cleef & Arpels. With a case diameter of 38mm, the movement remains of reasonable size yet its power reserve remains below 40 hours, which is quite normal considering the restricted available space. The automatic base calibre is produced by ValFleurier and animates the entire complex display mechanism. The downside of such a movement structure is to be found in the relative thickness of the case with a height of just over 13mm. However, these proportions also account for the staggering depth effects offered by the dial and its fluffy clouds positioned on different levels.

The case back and oscillating rotor also deserve a special mention for their original aesthetics, which remind us of what is happening on the dial side of the watch. All the main actors are present again: the swallow on the bezel, the clouds on the glass and of course the three butterflies on the oscillating rotor. The butterflies’ round dance therefore offers its mesmerizing spectacle on both sides of the watch!

The Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons wouldn’t distil such a magical dimension if the quality of its execution did not match its mechanical prowess. But Van Cleef & Arpels demonstrates once again its decorative mastery through the enlightened combination of several artistic crafts. My preferred elements are undoubtedly the mother-of-pearl dial and clouds. They depict a subtle and bright sky, full of transparency and light reflections. The butterflies and the swallow are in white gold and their miniature painting decoration provides sufficient contrast with the dial to ensure a very good readability of the time…and a perfect enjoyment of the animation! Approximately one hundred diamonds are delicately set around the bezel and bring an additional touch of glitter as they beautifully integrate around the animated dial.

By the end of the 2016 edition of the SIHH, there was no doubt about it: the Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons was on the all-round podium of my preferred SIHH watches, all men and ladies watches included. The reason for my choice is actually quite simple: beyond the quality of its execution and its mechanical prowess, this watch is above all playful and interactive. Through the enchanting butterfly ballet, it enables its fortunate owner to play with time. Isn’t that the nicest of all privileges?

– François-Xavier Overstake, Equation du Temps

vca-ronde02vca-ronde04

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply


*

SPECIAL FX

Special FX: Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons

24 novembre 2016

vca-ronde05

Depuis de nombreuses années, Van Cleef & Arpels occupe une place à part dans le monde horloger grâce à sa collection des Complications Poétiques. Les montres issues de cette collection sont l’expression de la rencontre entre l’univers délicat et malicieux de Van Cleef & Arpels et le contenu technique de mouvements  de haut niveau. Mettant en scène les thèmes favoris de la Maison de la Place Vendôme, elles offrent bien plus qu’une lecture alternative du temps par le biais d’affichages rétrogrades ou de complications astronomiques ou décalées. Elles proposent tout simplement une autre relation avec le temps qui passe, l’indication de l’heure ne devenant qu’un prétexte pour vivre des instants de grâce et de magie.

Le plus remarquable avec les Complications Poétiques, c’est que la dimension technique, pourtant créative, innovante et résultant du travail d’horlogers extrêmement réputés s’efface face à l’émotion créée par l’observation des cadrans. Il suffit de suivre du regard les déplacements d’une fée, d’une ballerine, le parcours d’un oiseau ou d’un papillon pour oublier les nombreuses pièces cachées dans le boîtier, pourtant nécessaires à la réussite de telles animations.

La Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons entre dans cette catégorie de montres où tout semble naturel, fluide et qui pourtant exige un mécanisme  complexe. Van Cleef & Arpels reprend plusieurs de ses sujets fétiches en combinant sur le même cadran l’hirondelle porte-bonheur, la fragilité des papillons  et la légèreté des nuages. Tous ces éléments se positionnent harmonieusement les uns par rapport aux autres  pour définir une scène aérienne qui indique le temps. L’hirondelle est dédiée à l’affichage des heures grâce à son aile gauche qui suit une échelle graduée de 0 à 12. Cet affichage est habituel dans le contexte des Complications Poétiques puisqu’il s’agit d’un système rétrograde, l’hirondelle revenant automatiquement à zéro à la fin de la 11ième heure.

Pourtant, il serait erroné de considérer la Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons comme une nouvelle interprétation d’un affichage utilisé antérieurement. La différence majeure réside dans le comportement des papillons qui sont dédiés à l’indication des minutes. Il est extrêmement rare d’observer sur un cadran  un affichage des minutes séparé en trois parties. Mais il est encore plus rare de se rendre compte que ces trois parties n’ont pas la même durée: deux segments de 15 minutes succédant à un segment initial de 30 minutes. Cette étrange répartition n’a qu’un seul but: mettre en valeur le déplacement des papillons.

Si vous observez de près la graduation des minutes, vous vous rendrez compte que les intervalles de 5 minutes n’ont pas tous la même longueur. Je touche à travers ce point précis une des spécificités de cette montre qui la rend si originale: les papillons ne volent pas à vitesse constante! L’astuce se trouve dans l’utilisation d’une roue elliptique qui en tournant, accélère et ralentit leur vitesse de déplacement.

Vous pouvez alors penser que cet artifice est un peu vain. Après tout, comment la différence de vitesse peut-elle être perceptible alors qu’il faut une heure pour effectuer le parcours complet de la graduation des minutes? Van Cleef & Arpels a pensé à ce détail en rendant possible le lancement à la demande du ballet des papillons  en pressant le poussoir à gauche du boîtier. Les papillons prennent alors leurs envols, les uns après les autres et se cachant entre les nuages une fois leurs trajectoires achevées. Le rendu visuel est saisissant et nous assistons véritablement à un ballet aérien et merveilleux d’une durée de 10 secondes. S’agissant d’une animation mécanique, les déplacements sont très légèrement saccadés ce qui donne une sensation supplémentaire de fragilité absolument charmante. Et bien entendu, la Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons a de la mémoire puisqu’une fois l’animation achevée, les papillons reprennent leurs positions initiales avant le lancement du ballet… c’est-à-dire celles qui indiquent le temps tout en tenant compte de la durée de l’animation.

vca-ronde01

Le mouvement qui équipe la montre possède donc la puissance nécessaire pour gérer le module rétrograde des heures (l’hirondelle), les minutes à vitesse variable (les papillons) ainsi qu’une animation à la demande exclusive à Van Cleef & Arpels. Le diamètre du boîtier étant de 38mm, ce mouvement possède une taille raisonnable et sa réserve de marche est dans ce contexte contraignant limitée sous la quarantaine d’heures. Il est composé d’un calibre de base automatique en provenance de ValFleurier qui anime la mécanique complexe de l’affichage. La contrepartie d’une telle structure du mouvement est sa relative épaisseur qui se ressent au niveau du boîtier puisque la hauteur de ce dernier dépasse légèrement les 13mm. Cependant, cette hauteur tient également compte des effets de profondeur saisissants du cadran obtenus grâce aux nuages présents sur plusieurs niveaux.

J’apprécie beaucoup la présentation du fond du boîtier et de la masse oscillante qui sont des clins d’oeil à la scène qui se déroule côté cadran. J’y retrouve tous ses acteurs: l’hirondelle sur la lunette, les nuages sur le verre et la lunette et bien évidemment les trois papillons sur la masse oscillante. Le ballet se déroule donc des deux côtés de la montre!

La Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons ne possèderait pas cette dimension magique si la qualité de l’exécution n’était pas au niveau de la prouesse mécanique. Van Cleef & Arpels démontre une fois de plus toute sa maîtrise décorative en combinant avec bonheur plusieurs métiers d’art. Les éléments que je préfère sont incontestablement le cadran et les nuages en nacre. Ils décrivent un ciel subtil, clair, fait de transparence et de reflets de lumière. Les papillons et l’hirondelle en or gris sont décorés à la peinture miniature et offrent un contraste suffisant avec le cadran pour assurer une bonne lisibilité du temps… et profiter pleinement de l’animation! La centaine de diamants qui apportent leur touche précieuse sont sertis avec raffinement et élégance et s’intègrent avec bonheur autour du cadran animé.

A l’issue du SIHH 2016, je n’avais aucun doute: la Lady Arpels Ronde des Papillons faisait partie de mon podium du Salon, toutes montres masculines ou féminines confondues. Et la raison pour moi de ce choix est finalement très simple: car au-delà de la qualité de son exécution et de sa prouesse mécanique, cette montre est avant tout ludique et interactive. Elle permet tout simplement, à travers le ballet des papillons de jouer avec le temps. N’est-ce pas le plus beau des privilèges?

– François-Xavier Overstake, Equation du Temps

vca-ronde02 vca-ronde04

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply


*